J-GLOBAL ID:200905099644872687   Organization code:J327000000 Update date: Jan. 21, 2020

The Ohara Memorial Institute for Science of Labour

公益財団法人大原記念労働科学研究所, コウエキザイダンホウジンオオハラキネンロウドウカガクケンキュウショ
Representive : President, HAYASHI Yujiro, Director, MAEHARA Naoki
Establishment year: 1945
Address: 2-8-14 Sugao, Miyamae-ku, Kawasaki-shi, Kanagawa 216-8501 Japan
Telephone number: +81-44-977-2121
FAX number: +81-44-977-7504
Number of employees: 34
Organization/Research department name (9):
  • Work Stress Research Group
  • Human-Technology Interaction Research Group
  • Systems Safety Research Group
  • Human Work Environment Management Research Group
  • Work Place Environment Risk Research Group
Show all
Subordinate facility name  (8):
  • -Library
  • -Labor load and operation laboratory
  • -Dust and gas explosion laboratory
  • -Noise and vibration laboratory
  • -Chemical laboratory
Show all
History (6):
  • 1921/07
    Magosaburo Ohara, president of Kurashiki Textile established Kurashiki Institute for Science of Labor in Kurashiki-shi.
  • 1937/01
    Entrusted to Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, and moved to Tokyo, then name was changed to Japan Institute for Science of Labor.
  • 1939/12
    Moved to Soshigaya Setagaya district in Tokyo through the kindness of Aiichiro Fujiyama.
  • 1941/04
    Japan Institute for Science of Labor was put under Japan Industrial Institute.
  • 1945/11
    Japan Institute for Science of Labor was reorganized to Institute for Science of Labor.
Purpose of establishment:
The Institute aims at conducting investigation and
research of labor on the spot such as ones in
factories and offices to improve the operation
method, working environment and life in workplace.
Business overview:
The Foundation of the Institute for Science of
Labour is steered by the Board of Directors which
consists of representatives from academic, public,
industrial and labour circles.

Mr. Yujiro Hayashi is President of the Institute
chairing the Board.
Dr. Naoki Maehara is Director of the Institute.
There are research division, the international
cooperation division, the administrative and
publication departments, the library and information
centre and the supporting members' bureau.
  • 2004: \ 380 (Million)
  • 2003: \ 367 (Million)
  • 2002: \ 421 (Million)
  • 2001: \ 395 (Million)
  • 2000: \ 419 (Million)

Return to Previous Page